i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

Day 3

Posted by iwanttodothat on September 2, 2009

AM

6:57 I must’ve been anticipating my alarm, because I popped out of bed early. Slept like the dead once I got to sleep. I went to bed at 1am (habit) and at 1:30, the phone rang. With recent health situations in my family, I wokeup and called the number back. It was some girl who’d been given a bad number. I’m sure she was perfectly lovely at whatever bar she was stuck in.

7:00 took meds, dressed, walked. I did all the prescribed stretches this morning and during my walk, but my dang sciatica is a real walk killer. I stuck it out for nearly 30 minutes, arriving home at 7:38. Took a shower and started dealing with breakfast.

8:45 Breakfast. 1/2c uncooked steel cut oats, 6oz. Jennie-O ground turkey, 1/2c strawberries, 1c skim milk, 1T Walden Farms apple butter mixed into the oatmeal

Breakfast, Day 3

Breakfast, Day 3

I loved this breakfast on so many levels. The turkey was really tasty, the strawberries were nice and ripe, and Bob’s Red Mill steel cut oats cooked the old fashioned way are REALLY delicious. I stirred in 1T of Walden Farms Apple Butter. That added a lot to the oatmeal without adding any sugar, carbs, calories, sodium, or anything else. Just check out that link. I can’t imagine that I will be hungry after eating all of this, but, alas, I will have to eat a snack in 2-3 hours.

Today, the kids have ice skating lessons and practice from noon-2pm, so I will be packing my snack and lunch to eat while I’m out. I don’t want to get stuck going somewhere after skating, and not having my lunch with me!

12:05 Snack 1. 1 medium apple, 2T raw almond butter, 1c skim milk

Snack 1, Day 3

Snack 1, Day 3

I drank the milk at home, then ate the snack at while I watched the kids’ ice skating lessons.

PM

2:45 Lunch. 4pc turkey bacon, 6oz low-sodium deli turkey, 1 slice whole wheat bread, 2c lettuce, 1/2 tomato, 1c strawberries

Lunch, Day 3

Lunch, Day 3

Yes, that’s my steering wheel. After ice skating, the kids wanted to eat at Sonic, and since I packed all of my food for lunch, we could eat there pretty easily. This was a big lunch. I stuffed about half of the turkey and all 4 slices of turkey bacon onto one piece of bread with some Grey Poupon. The rest of the turkey was put into the salad with the lettuce and tomatoes. This was real work to eat all of this. Then the strawberries! A cup is a lot! It was all tasty and refreshing. I am dragging a little bit and could use a nap.

I have a busy evening tonight with two activities: choir rehearsal and small group @ Perkins. In order to get my meal timing to work out, I need to eat my 2nd snack right before rehearsal, and dinner between rehearsal and small group. Since it’s at Perkins, I can’t take food in. I’m usually out until midnight on small group night once a month, but I’m going to try to leave early tonight. I didn’t get enough sleep last night, and tomorrow morning is a training day and my first weigh-in. There’s nothing like a sleep deficit hang on to weight. Gonna try to get in a little nap right now before I have to leave.

5:45 Snack 2. 8oz 2% cottage cheese, 1c blueberries, 2 packets Truvia

Snack 2, Day 3

Snack 2, Day 3

8:15 Dinner. 6oz chicken breast, 10 romaine lettuce leaves, 1/4 onion, 1/4 tomato,  1/2 avocado, 1c seedless grapes

Dinner, Day 3

Dinner, Day 3

This was not the ideal situation here. I packed my dinner and took it to choir rehearsal. Immediately after rehearsal, I ate dinner in my car, then went to Perkins with friends. That made 2 times in one day I ate in my car. I’m committed to this plan, but it was a little lonely.

My trip to Perkins was hard. I didn’t want to drink any caffeine, and I didn’t eat, so I drank plain old water. Lots of it. I joked with the girls that I was in recovery. I really feel that I’m recovering from a lifetime of bad habits. So far, so good. I shared with them what I’m doing for some support. Each one of us has weight issues. We deal with it very differently along with our unique brands of excuses. We’ve got someone who walks sporadically, one slimfast drinker, one “medical” weight-loss-er, and an exercise addict. Me? I’ve done it all, and haven’t been able to sustain any of it. So, this time, I’m paying someone else to think for me and make me better, because I obviously suck at it.

Leave a Reply

 
