i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

Day 81

Posted by iwanttodothat on November 19, 2009

AM

7:15 Woke up, took meds, stretched, got ready for personal training.

8:00 Personal training. New personal best on 1-mile run/walk… 16:24!!! I smashed my last time by a full minute! Was subjected to cruel and unusual punishment for the remaining 40 minutes.

9:00 Breakfast. Smoothie by Maggie.

11:15 Snack. 1/2c fat-free cottage cheese, 1/2c frozen blueberries.

1:30 Lunch. Chick-fil-A. Grilled chicken and fruit salad.

4:30 Snack. 2 stalks celery, 2 wedges Laughing Cow Light Swiss cheese.

6:30 Snack. 1 Yoplait Light yogurt.

7:00 Exercise. Fencing. I had my first official fencing lesson tonight. I was so excited that I had to lie down at 5:30-6:00 to get myself under control. I got to the rec center and was given a glove and a foil. Coach Terry got her hands on me and gave me the 411. I learned what to practice for the next week and half until we meet again after Thanksgiving week. For my own note taking purposes, I will list it here.

  • “En garde” position. Feet at a 90 degree angle, shoulder-width apart, in an “L” shape, knees bent, back straight, shoulders relaxed, R elbow about 1 hand-length from torso, foil grip tucked into wrist, thumb at 12 o’clock, blade tip aimed at opponent’s eyes, L arm bent in a right angle, hand relaxed, low center of gravity.
  • Advance. Short steps, knees bent, pick feet up, R foot heel first, move L foot forward quickly, head shouldn’t “bob”… smooth movement.
  • Retreat. Short steps, knees bent, pick feet up, ┬ásame principles as Advance, but in reverse.
  • Lunge. Extend blade arm, use back leg to push body forward, L hand should drop backward to help with balance.
  • Recovery from lunge. Return to “en garde” position with blade extended, then bring it back.
  • Basic drill. Start “en garde”, 1-extend, 2-lunge, 3-recover, 4-retract blade. I know there is some other name for 3 and 4, but I can’t think of it right now.
  • Point drills. Find a point and hit the target with tip of blade ┬áby extension.
  • “6” position is defending my right side
  • “4” position is defending my left side

I think that’s probably enough to keep me busy for about six months! The maestro gave me a foil and glove to borrow until next time! Woohoo!

10:00 Dinner. 4oz salmon, 4c mixed baby greens, 1c broccoli, o&v.

Leave a Reply

 
