i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

Day 128 – This is the year, baby!

Posted by iwanttodothat on January 5, 2010

Holy cow. It’s Day 128. I’ve taken 3 full weeks off from writing on the old blog here and guess what? I haven’t lost any real weight since then, either. I’m going to deduce that there is indeed a correlation between the two! I’m back to blogging everything because I want to hit my goal weight this year!

This morning, I had my first personal training session of the year. 38 degrees in Tampa, Florida, is just crazy. I was warned last night by my trainer to dress warmly because we would be “playing outside” this morning. Double ugh! It was quite cold this morning. Oh, I had a weigh-in, too! I’m down to 297.4 pounds for a total loss of 52.6 pounds! Woohoo! No gain over Christmas and New Year’s, and a small loss! I was just so happy to still be in the 200s, I about flipped! Before I got on the scale, I gave a million excuses. “I’m wearing more clothes than usual.” “I ate like a pig over the holidays. This isn’t going to be good.” I was fully prepared for that scale to say 305 or possibly worse. I’m pretty pleased with myself.

As far as the workout went this morning, we ran/walked 1 mile outside, which was awful. It was so cold, and I’ve been seriously slacking on my cardio over the holidays. Then we stayed outside and did a lot of agility work. What does that mean, exactly? Circuit 1: run the agility ladder (tip toe hopping, really), jump rope 20 times (haven’t done this in 30 years and promise to practice this daily to figure out how to do it more than 1 jump at a time), run zig-zags around 12 cones, 20 jumping jacks. Wash. Rinse. Repeat. Circuit 2: high-step the agility ladder, jump rope, cones, pick up weights (10lb dumbbells) and lunge 15 yards, 10 dead lifts, lunge back. Repeat. After all of that torture, we went into the toasty gym and worked upper body. Lots of heavy weights today with short sets. Thursday will be all about the upper body because I have a 5k at Disney World early Friday morning.

Speaking of which, I am a little worried about this 5k simply because I’ve been slacking a little. I did a 5k on December 19th that really frustrated me. It was really cold, the start was delayed (so we were standing out the cold for much longer than necessary), it was extremely windy, and the race course went through a hilly downtown, then over a huge causeway bridge, then back over the huge bridge. Did I mention how windy it was? It was really a beautiful day, except for the cold and wind. My time was not so good: 52:52, I think. After that, I felt a little discouraged and really slacked off. Of course, this is the opposite of what I should’ve done: train harder. It’s not rocket science! I should’ve picked up the pieces and trained diligently. If I’d done that, I’d feel a lot more prepared for Friday than I do right now. My biggest concern is that I won’t make the pace requirement, which is 16 minutes/mile. I need to get my best 5k time ever and come in under 49:36. As long as it’s mostly flat, and the Disney people are cheering their hearts out, I think I can do it! My personal record is 50:26, and that was at Thanksgiving. I’m really excited and nervous! My family is going with me and we’re staying at the Pop Century resort Thursday night. I have to attend the Fitness Expo on Thursday night to pick up my race packet.

I just am really excited that this is happening. I set a goal in September when I started training, and that was to do this Disney 5k with a pace requirement. I am starting 2010 fifty+ pounds lighter and reaching a goal! I’ve done the hard work of eating right, exercising, and participating in FOUR 5k races to mentally prepare myself. I’m doing it!

AM

7:30 Woke up, took meds, drank water, stretched, got ready for cold day of training.

8:00 Weigh-in. 297.6 lbs. Personal training session (as described above).

9:00 Breakfast. Protein shake from Maggie.

PM

12:30 Lunch. 2 slices whole wheat bread, 2T raw almond butter, 1 banana.

3:00 Snack. 2 clementines

5:30 Dinner. 6oz chicken breast, 1/2c yellow rice, 1c green beans.

8:30 Snack. 2 slice Muenster cheese.

Leave a Reply

 
