i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

Largo Shamrock’n Run Tonight!

Posted by iwanttodothat on March 12, 2010

I’m looking forward to my first evening race since Thanksgiving. It’s been a rainy couple of days here, but it appears to be clearing out this afternoon, and hopefully the sun will work its magic the rest of the day.

Tonight is going to be very special because I will have company. Yay! This all started last week at my kids’ ice skating lessons. I was chatting with a new friend (another mom) and was telling her about my 5k addiction and fitness journey thus far. She was so pumped up that she is all about the Couch-to-5k program, set up a facebook group (that now has over 100 members), picked out a 5k each month to motivate people, and is doing a 5k tonight to kick it all off! She says that I’m to blame, but in my experience, you can’t force people into running. You just can’t. It’s hard to motivate people to get up and take a walk!

I’m happy to be her comrade in facilitating change in all of our friends while we transform ourselves! It’s all more fun with friends. You can bitch and moan together, but you can also encourage and celebrate together! That’s what friends are for!

This will also help me get back on track with my training. I’ve started the C25k program before, but didn’t keep it up. I’m determined to keep up with the pack this time! I can do it!

Tonight will be my 9th 5k, and I’m hungry for a personal record tonight! My extra motivations for tonight: 1) I will know people there, 2) there’s beer, food, and live music at the finish, and 3) possible personal record tonight if I pay attention to what I’m doing.

I will have pictures to post tomorrow and possibly a video. Things are about to go a lot faster around here!

Leave a Reply

 
