i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Flickr Photos

I’m going Paleo!

Posted by iwanttodothat on August 21, 2010

Tomorrow, I’m going totally Paleo. I will be posting links, recipes, helpful hints, and pictures of what I’m eating. It’s going to be interesting.¬†What does this mean? I’ll be gluten-free, dairy-free, legume-free, grain-free, sugar-free, chemical-free, process-free…

Why am I doing this? It seems pretty drastic, I know. Well, studies show (my life study) that I cannot control myself with starchy foods, sugar, grains, etc., and I think this is wreaking havoc with my hormones. I am a food addict. I cannot have even the tiniest bite of cake and my impulse control is gone. I’ll eat the whole piece and while I’m eating it, I’m trying to figure out how I can score another piece. Nobody needs 2 pieces of cake. I will definitely be writing more about this new chapter as I travel down new paths and carve out new ways of managing my eating.

Yes, exercise is important and I’m not going to neglect that part of it, but for me, conquering the food problem is the worst of it.

Here’s a general picture of a paleo ingredient list:

YES

  • All kinds of meats, poultry, and seafood
  • Eggs
  • Vegetables (NO potatoes, sweet potatoes, legumes, starchy foods)
  • Nuts and Seeds
  • Fruits (in moderation)
  • Wine (in moderation)

NO

  • Dairy
  • Legumes
  • Peanuts
  • Sugar
  • Added salt
  • Starchy vegetables
  • Grains (including rice)
  • Grain-like seeds (amaranth, buckwheat, quinoa)

Breakfast:
1/3 protein
2/3 fruit

Snack 1: handful of raw almonds and a small apple

Lunch:
1/3 protein
1/3 vegetable
1/3 fruit

Snack 2: handful of raw almonds and some dried fruit

Dinner:
1/3 protein
2/3 vegetable

No eating 4 hours before bedtime.

Leave a Reply

 
