i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

Paleo Day 2

Posted by iwanttodothat on August 23, 2010

Breakfast: 4 eggs and some salsa
Snack: handful of raw almonds, a few prunes
Lunch: Roast pork and honeydew
Snack: handful of raw almonds
Dinner: (this is not great) We went to a little tasting party at The Melting Pot where I had 1 “Love” martini, raw broccoli, raw cauliflower, raw apples, maybe 1/4 cup of spinach artichoke cheese dip (dairy – booo…) and a strawberry dipped in dark chocolate. We went to Longhorn for a real dinner, since we were having a date night, and I had the 7-Pepper Steak Salad, no dressing, and about 3 glasses of water.

Overall, it wasn’t too bad. I had The Melting Pot party on the calendar for a few weeks, got a babysitter, and took my husband out alone! I know my weakness was the martini, cheese, and chocolate. The good news is that I cheated in moderation. You should have seen the huge mound of marshmallows, pound cake, and chocolate fondues! I also avoided the croutons, and bread chunks. I had an absolutely lovely time with my husband, and I don’t feel bad about any of my food choices.

Today, I started using a diet compliance chart from the Health Habits blog. I went back to yesterday’s food journal and checked off my meals. I wasn’t compliant tonight for dinner, so I’m giving myself an “x” for that meal. Otherwise, I’m staying on track!

Keeping a food journal is critical for success. Even when you are not following a diet, writing down what you eat will keep you honest.

Tomorrow, I plan to get up and get in an hour-long walk/run. How hard is it going to be to drag my butt out of bed at 6am? It’s going to be pretty awful if I stay up much later. Good night.

One Response to “Paleo Day 2”

  1. tmw2010 said

    I met the guy behind the Paleodiet years ago, when my Food Allergy Field Guide book came out and I had to be at a Celiac conference in Baltimore. He was an interesting man, although a little intense. In principle, I think it’s a good idea. You’re definitely right about a food journal. Go Ann! Almonds are wonderful, aren’t they? 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
