i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

Day 4 – Paleo Rocks!

Posted by iwanttodothat on August 25, 2010

I’m totally digging the Paleo Diet. Already, weight is coming off. (Yes, I know this is the water-weight-loss stage, mostly due to lowered salt intake, but I’m taking it!) I’m drinking more fluids. I’m going to the bathroom every 1-2 hours it seems, just like I did when I was in major weight loss mode last Fall. The reduction in my salt intake is already making a difference, too. I swam 14 laps today (better than nothing) and my wedding ring was not staying on. During this past year’s weight loss, I had to take it off because it kept falling off every time I washed my hands, and it also flew off while I was playing the piano. I put it back on a month or so ago, and it’s been staying on. It’s back on my jewelry tree. I just don’t want to lose it.

Basically, I’m already feeling better. Is it this specific diet? It’s early to tell. My caloric intake has been between 1300-1400 calories each day, and that’s about where it should be for my weight loss plan. My protein intake is also high enough to sustain substantial physical activity (which I really need to get busy with!) I’ve also been able to stop eating for at least 4 hours before bed.

Today, on my diet tracking, which I do on SparkPeople.com, my total calories were divided almost equally over the 5 meals/snacks today. If you’ve never tracked your food, the Nutrition Tracker there is really something. When you’re done with entering all of your meals for the day, you can get a final report that breaks down the numbers in several ways. This is very useful to me. I was beyond thrilled to see my five meals coming in equally like that. I’m retraining my body’s eating schedule properly. I’m also trying to get most of my carbs before noon, with a piece of fruit in the afternoon.

One other noticeable thing tonight… I felt very clear-headed while I was at work. What work? I am church musician, and we had choir rehearsal tonight. I could notice a difference in my ability to focus and let my fingers do what they are trained to do. I wasn’t second-guessing myself so much, and I didn’t have any moments where I thought, “Where am I on the page, and what am I doing? What key are we in?” Not that I think like that all the time, mind you, but I do have moments like that. I’ll admit that I don’t think as clearly when I’m all sugared up and full of carbs.

Anything that helps my ability to focus is worth a second look.

My sleeping is better this week. When my eating is out of control, I stay up way too late, sleep like the dead, and stay there way too late, too. I also want to take a nap after sitting still for 15 minutes. I haven’t had any of that this week.

Female business ahead. You’ve been warned.

Today is only Day 4 of doing the Paleo thing, and I completely managed to stick to the plan even though I started my monthly cycle today. (Mom, if you’re reading this, yes, I’m talking about my period on my blog. Deal.) Normally, I would’ve been carb-loading like a Sumo wrestler at the state fair, and I didn’t do it this week. This may not seem like a big deal to a lot of folks, but it is to me and the people I live with. I’m sure they are appreciating this change right now.

I hope I’m not speaking too soon, but I’m really digging Paleo. One more thing, compliance has been easy.

Click here for a great definition of Paleo Nutrition. I like to think of it as pre-technology food. If a food needs to be processed to be digested (ground, boiled, etc.), then it’s not on the list. Right now, I’m not hard core (aka NeanderThin folks). I’m just trying to get a handle on life without dairy and grains. We’ve been legume-free for years due to an allergy in the household. For that member of our family, I’m wondering if this might help with other health ailments.

I’m going to keep reading and researching and hopefully will have some interesting things to share regarding our “allergic” family member.

One Response to “Day 4 – Paleo Rocks!”

  1. Julie Petro said

    Way to go! Compliance IS easy, and it’ll get even easier after about two or three weeks when your body finally figures out that it needs to switch to fat as its go-to energy source. As someone who’s been doing paleo for about five months (not THAT long really) I am excited for you for all the positive changes you’re going to see in yourself. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

 
