i want to do that

a journey from thick to thin

Day 5 – I can do this!

Posted by iwanttodothat on August 26, 2010

It’s Day 5 on the Paleo diet. I’m not perfect and hardcore, but here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: handful of raw almonds, 5 prunes
Lunch: Wendy’s California Cobb Salad (it had bleu cheese on it), pomegranate vinaigrette dressing (processed), and a Diet Coke.
Snack: handful of raw almonds
Dinner: 2cups of homemade shrimp gumbo (no rice), tabasco sauce, 8 fresh Black Turkey Figs (yes, 8).

I admit that I pigged out on figs. Who can blame me? They are BOGO at Publix this week, and they are perfectly ripe. Nobody else in the house eats them, and they don’t have much of a shelf life at this stage. I will be eating the other package tomorrow. Yep. That’s what I’m doing.

Breakfast was rushed and I didn’t get up earlier and cook something better. One kid’s doctor appointment ran late and we had a very short window of opportunity for lunch before we had to be at a robotics field trip across town. The kids decided on Wendy’s, so that’s where I had to make some decisions. I did okay on carbs, including the dressing, but I had some dairy (bleu cheese) and a Diet Coke. Is that a crime?

Almonds, again. Love those little babies! They are life savers for me. Truly.

The Gumbo veggie mix I use has some corn in it. Not a ton, but it’s still there. Other than that, it had a ton of shrimp, tomatoes, peppers, okra, onions, and parsley in it. I added about 10 good drops of Tabasco to mine, and that made it sing!

Enough of the food journal postmortem for today. Even though I felt a little out of control today, I still kept my food journal. Knowing that I’m documenting each bite I put in my mouth wields a lot of power with me. I am reminded of my commitment to this program and, moreso, to getting my hormones and weight under control.

Today, I continued to notice a sense of mental clarity. I was able to be present and focused. I feel good.

Girl Talk: As far as my cycle goes, I didn’t sleep all morning, take a nap in the afternoon, or inhale carbs all day long! I felt normal. I’m interested to see how my cycle day 4 is going to turn out this weekend. That will tell me a lot.

It seems like I had some other things to say today, but mostly I’m just looking forward to the weekend and spending time with the family.

Today’s Takeaway: Focus on the general before the specific.

I can’t beat myself up for drinking a Diet Coke or eating bleu cheese on a salad one day. I did choose a very low carb Cobb salad, and Diet Cokes are calorie-free. I could’ve had a triple Baconator with fries and a Coke. I didn’t do that. My family had ice cream tonight. I served it, but I didn’t even taste it. I’m making meals for my whole family, not just me. This is progress. I’m looking forward to seeing some results!

Thanks to all the new Twitter followers! Glad to have you along for the ride!

Leave a Reply

 
